

30 May 2018

The Honorable Richard Shelby Room S-128, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Lamar Alexander 455 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Patrick Leahy Room S-146A, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein 331 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairmen Shelby and Alexander and Ranking Members Leahy and Feinstein,

On behalf of the American Geophysical Union (AGU) and its 60,000 scientist members, I would like to thank you for your strong support of the Department of Energy's (DOE) research portfolio in the Senate FY2019 Energy and Water Development Appropriations bill.

The DOE Office of Science and the Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy (ARPA-E) support everything from basic research to early-stage technology development, all necessary to keep our nation at the cutting-edge of energy innovation. The record level of funding provided in the bill will help DOE continue its important work finding solutions to our nation's energy challenges and promoting the health and security of our communities.

AGU agrees with Chairman Alexander's views that "science, research and innovation is what made America first" and should be included in the President's 'America First' agenda. AGU members work every day to promote discovery in Earth and space science for the benefit of humanity — work that will not be possible in future years without the sustained support of the Congress. Your leadership has been and will continue to be crucial to providing the robust funding needed for the nation to realize its energy and innovation potential.

We stand ready to work with you to ensure that Americans can reap the benefits of a strong scientific enterprise and science can continue to help find solutions to America's most pressing issues.

With best wishes.

Lexi Shultz

Vice President, Public Affairs American Geophysical Union

Legi Shis



Cc: The Honorable Mitch McConnell The Honorable Chuck Schumer The Honorable John Cornyn The Honorable Richard Durbin