

12 July 2018

The Honorable Christopher Coons 127A Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Lisa Murkowski 522 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Kamala Harris 112 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senators Coons, Murkowski and Harris:

On behalf of the American Geophysical Union (AGU) and its 60,000 Earth and space scientist members, I am writing to endorse the Hidden Figures Congressional Gold Medal Act.

This bill would honor the pioneering work of four female scientists – Katherine Johnson, Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, and Dr. Christine Darden – who made significant contributions to advance the United States' efforts in the space race, which captivated the nation in the 1950s and 1960s, and who made a lasting impact on the fields of aeronautics and space science.

Their dedication to their scientific work and our nation not only challenged the social barriers of their time, but also paved the way for other women and persons of color to pursue a career in science where these communities are woefully under-represented. While generations to come will continue to benefit from their advances in science whether they are aware of these extraordinary women or not, this bill helps to immortalize their story as an important part of our nation's history.

The United States owes Katherine Johnson, Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, and Dr. Christine Darden our sincerest gratitude. These women exemplify the spirit of this award. We appreciate your work to honor them and their contributions.



AGU looks forward to working with you to honor these incredible women scientists and engineers.

With best wishes,

Christine W. McEntee CEO/Executive Director American Geophysical Union

Churcher W Mc Entro

cc:

The Honorable Shelly Moore-Capito

The Honorable Edward Markey

The Honorable Elizabeth Warren

The Honorable Thomas Carper

The Honorable Amy Klobuchar

The Honorable Margaret Hassan

The Honorable Lamar Alexander

The Honorable Gary Peters

The Honorable Ron Wyden

The Honorable Richard Durbin

The Honorable Jeff Merkley

The Honorable Tina Smith

The Honorable Johnny Isakson

The Honorable Jack Reed

The Honorable Susan Collins

The Honorable Doug Jones

The Honorable Joe Manchin