

18 July 2018

The Honorable Richard Shelby Room S-128, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Lamar Alexander 455 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Rodney Frelinghuysen H-305 Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mike Simpson 2084 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Patrick Leahy Room S-146A, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein 331 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Nita Lowey 1016 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur 2186 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairmen Shelby, Alexander, Frelinghuysen, and Simpson and Ranking Members Leahy, Feinstein, Lowey, and Kaptur:

On behalf of the American Geophysical Union and its 60,000 Earth and space scientist members, I want to thank you for your leadership in passing the fiscal year (FY) 2019 Energy and Water appropriations bill. We appreciate your efforts to complete the appropriations process before the end of the year, use regular order, and reject the harmful cuts to science outlined in the President's budget request.

As you work to finalize the Energy and Water appropriations bill, we urge you to ensure that the Department of Energy Office of Science and the Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy (ARPA-E) receive robust funding at the Senate mark of \$6.65 billion and \$375 million, respectively. Research at the Department of Energy is essential to safeguarding our nation and meeting our nation's growing energy demands. Funding at this level will fortify America's leadership in energy research and foster energy innovation.

Thank you for continuing to recognize the importance of robust science funding to our nation's security and economy. AGU stands ready to work with you to ensure that our nation can continue



to benefit from a strong scientific enterprise.

Respectfully,

Lexi Shultz

Vice President, Public Affairs American Geophysical Union

Legi Shis

cc:

The Honorable Mitch McConnell
The Honorable John Cornyn
The Honorable Chuck Schumer
The Honorable Richard Durbin
The Honorable John Boozman
The Honorable Steve Daines
The Honorable James Lankford
The Honorable Brian Schatz
The Honorable Chris Murphy

The Honorable Paul Ryan
The Honorable Kevin McCarthy
The Honorable Nancy Pelosi
The Honorable Steny Hoyer
The Honorable John Carter
The Honorable Ken Calvert
The Honorable Jeff Fortenberry
The Honorable Charles Fleischmann
The Honorable Jaime Herrera Beutler
The Honorable Nita Lowey
The Honorable Marcy Kaptur
The Honorable Pete Visclosky
The Honorable Tim Ryan
The Honorable Debbie Wasserman-Schultz